…still courting…

Feeling like I’ve written so much that is off-putting or off-centering, thought I’d do something lighter so here’s another response…

 

 

They were dancing, the fountain burbling punch behind them. Guests drifted away from the reception but she and he were engaged, newly re-acquainted, rediscovering themselves; talking, dancing, laughing through the evening.

It had been years since they’d taken the time to connect like this. Nothing interrupted them. She’d forgotten how tall he was on the dance floor, how graceful. The last dance was a slow one. He gently held her as they moved, still courting, across the deserted floor.

Outside their room, she coyly turned, dismissing their years of marriage, and demurely, innocently breathed… “I’m exhausted…shut the door behind you.” Their eyes met and he followed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to …still courting…

  1. Sally-Jayne says:

    This is so beautiful and romantic! It’s put a real smile on my face….and after the day I’ve had that’s no mean feat.

  2. This is a really nice piece, fluid and evocative. The only part that jars for me is the “I’m exhausted…shut the door behind you” line, but I’m guessing that’s because I’ve already read it in about 25 other pieces…!

    • lorrainefort says:

      Thanks for the comments…like you, it gets difficult to get past the prompt even though it is to be included. For me, I find that it continues to be an ‘anchor’ to my pieces and I think it would help to be able to include it peripherally rather than as a center. Haven’t worked that out yet…hopefully, her tone helps ease the familiarity of the line.

  3. Mayumi says:

    This is so lovely, Lorraine! I love the idea of these two reacquainting on the dance floor. The subtle detail of her noticing him again as a man, the man she fell in love with, is beautiful. It stirred in me a lot of feelings for my own husband, how much I take him for granted and how much I need to recognize him, again. Thank you!

  4. This is a beautiful piece. It warmed me as I read, so good to read something showing a married couple getting it so right 🙂

  5. jfb57 says:

    Such romance – I loved it & could hear the music.
    The link did not work for me so I’ll try & go back & edit it for you.

  6. Mike says:

    Oh you romantic!! And it’s true, these things to happen.

  7. Gilly Gee says:

    Gentle and atmospheric, i love it!

Leave a Reply

