Ruby Fun

Ever seeking to know more, I Wikipedia’d the definition of “ruby.“ I found an astonishing bit of information: RUBY is a language of computer programming based out of the principles of human need, not machine optimalization, seeking to be a language following the “Principle of Least Astonishment,” stating that “language should behave in such a way as to minimize confusion for experienced users!” Isn’t that a delicious phrase! What a delightful bit of useless but tangentially, potentially exciting information! After all, I too believe that all language should behave in such a way as to minimize confusion for experienced users!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ruby Fun

  1. Miriam says:

    An interesting thought.

  2. Sally-Jayne says:

    That’s a delightfully delicious phrase! Thanks for this post – I learned something new today.

  3. snagglewordz says:

    Delicious indeed. It’s good to know that RUBY is seeking to follow PoLA – I’d hate to be confused! Nice post. 🙂

  4. Haha – totally agree. Ruby must be the opposite of anything that comes from the council or a government office.

    • lorrainefort says:

      LOL! I think you’re on to something there! It was a fun bit of research but really more than I planned to learn. I was glad I didn’t pull up the stone first as I probably would have dovetailed off of that!

  5. Sandra says:

    Yes I went down that path in search of inspiration too. Thanks for reminding me.

  6. How interesting, and how sensible. If only this were the case more often… Enjoyed this.

  7. Mike says:

    I think *life*…”should behave in such a way as to minimize confusion for experienced users!”

Leave a Reply

