…baptismal fire…

The whole congregation was still. Pastor spoke the ancient words, splashing water on her forehead with each utterance.  “I baptize you in the name of the Father,… the Son, … and the Holy Spirit.” She held her breath, tight with anticipation… and fear.  Would there be a change?

She was told it wasn’t magical, yet, somewhere, inside, she expected something; perhaps fire from the Holy Spirit.  Surely, the flame flickered before the service.   She imagined, then, it would burst out of some hidden portal and ignite her spirit, making her truly an expression of holiness.   She grinned with joy; spiritually, she was on fire!   

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to …baptismal fire…

  1. Wow – totally original take on the prompt! Nice.

  2. I found this very interesting. The scene seems innocent enough, yet somehow the last two lines felt eerie. It makes me want to know more about this woman.

  3. Sandra says:

    I felt I needed to know more to understand this. The switch from thinking about what she’d expected, to the last sentence was such a leap that it had me wondering about the back story. Intriguing.

    • lorrainefort says:

      I think it’s more a realization that she is already on fire, just as the Holy Spirit is flickering before the baptism; that the action of the baptism simply affirmed/brought to fore/made her aware of God’s action through her…so often we want God’s action to be a fast-food type, or like a 3-D explosion that lets us know the totality of his presence, but it’s not that way, usually.
      I hope that helps and I’m glad you helped me articulate and, hopefully, clarify. 🙂

  4. How interesting. I’m intrigued by this. x

  5. Mayumi-H says:

    Very spiritual. I liked her realization that she is suddenly filled with a holiness, even if it’s not the way she may have expected to be. The first paragraph is especially nice – I love the sense of quiet and anticipation. 🙂

  6. What an intriguing take on the prompt. Liked it.

  7. This was a great take on the prompt. Very original. Feels like a powerful rite of passage for the protagonist!

  8. Annie Dennis says:

    I liked this. Expectation and then realisation and joy at the knowledge. Things aren’t always as we expect, but that does’t take the beauty or magic out of those experiences.
    Lovely piece

  9. I loved your take on this prompt – not an angle I had thought of but so very appropriate for the image of a flame – great job!

  10. And speaking of fire from the Holy Spirit – Happy Pentecost!

Leave a Reply

