… the rain turned the road into a river…

I went to the store to get her some bleach…some “Pintrest” idea she had to throw together before leaving tomorrow for a week. Browsing the store, my head swilling with…emotions…unnamed…untamed…what is going on?
I saw hampers, laundry baskets, “hmm…she’ll be needing those at school.” Like a ton of bricks, the aisle turned to a watery miasma, like the rain turned the road into a river, torrents of emotions hitting my brain, my heart, my being…”STOP!” I scolded myself. “This is a GOOD thing!” I stoppered those tears, and, fragile, began to barricade my heart from these newly discovered, finally named, growing pains.
Then I went to pay.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to … the rain turned the road into a river…

  1. I see what you’re getting at here. These are the kinds of ‘growing pains’ that affect the parent who’ll miss the one taking that first flight from the nest.

  2. Liska says:

    Was she going on a school trip? Ah bless you is she back yet?
    Thank you so so much for visiting my 100 words and leaving such a lovely comment (I am Christian too – Roman Catholic).
    Liska x

    • lorrainefort says:

      A short trip with the church, then in a month she leaves for college. 🙂
      I try to read all the posts but not always certain what to respond…just comes from the heart. Glad you’re sharing too!

  3. Really interesting interpretation of the prompt. I like the way its was written – really captures how overtaken and overwhelming the emotions are.

  4. Is this Mom getting Daughter ready to leave for college? Anyway, interesting use of the prompt to show emotion.

    • lorrainefort says:

      She had a short trip, be home for a few weeks, then off to college. Lots of life changes for our family with our oldest leaving and not available to do all the ‘mother’s helper’ things she does so willingly and so well. It’s a good thing for her to go, but I’ll miss the daily parenting. 🙂

  5. Mayumi-H says:

    I like the internal breakdown a lot. More touching that it happens over something so mundane as groceries. It’s always difficult to let them go, I suppose, though it’s even more difficult to control when the realization hits.
    Nice work, Lorraine! I like how you used the prompt to convey emotion rather than description. 🙂

    • lorrainefort says:

      thanks for understanding. Not something I’m familiar with, the overwhelming emotion in an un-related place. But then that is the reality of our lives, I guess. We’re never in control. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  6. I so knew what you were feeling having had a recent fledgling, you captured the emotion so well. Superb word “Miasma”!

  7. A great personification on the thoughts of a parent as their flock thins out and away.
    Well done!

Leave a Reply

