…. the line was drawn ….

Crouching, he began to draw, moving the sand with his finger. Once the line was drawn in the sand, he looked up at them, his words gently piercing the awareness of the men holding stained, heavy rocks. “Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.”
“She’s an adulterer!” said their leader, internally flinching, knowing he was one also.
“It’s the law!” shouted another, looking to the leader for strength, oddly aware of his unpaid taxes.
One by one, they silently dropped their stones and walked away.
To her stunned awareness he spoke, “Nor I do condemn you. Go and sin no more.”

This is a post in response to the prompt from the 100 Word Challenge, http://jfb57.wordpress.com/tag/100wcgu/. Check it out! Julia has the best prompts! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to …. the line was drawn ….

  1. That was excellent. Such an original take on the prompt. I loved the way their hypocrisy dawned on them one by one. Great piece.

  2. Delft says:

    Great story. Sad it doesn’t work that way in real life.

  3. brilliant use of prompt- beautifully written x

  4. I love what this says about “knowing thyself” and the perils of judging others. After the incident I related yesterday on my other site, it feels especially good to read this story from you. 🙂

    • lorrainefort says:

      NO one gets to judge another…we all have skeletons!
      As for your blog, I really liked and related to your story; I am sorry people are so mean. and demeaning. Which means they are still seeking a meaning for themselves. If you have to be ugly to try to look good, you’ve failed.
      I had a woman “clean” my office as she cleaned the building. She moved all the piles of my organization to where she thought they should go and left me notes to direct my placement of things. I was not only shocked, I was angry and then sad. How horrific to need to control others to the point that you must micromanage their environment and their work habits. When I tried to talk to her, she just went on and angrily on about her own place in the situation and how her responsibilities are so overwhelming and unwanted. How do you convey peace to that? I just thanked her, and was genuinely thankful, that she was able to share. I’ll address the rest later. It is so hard to not want to be angry and frustrated back at her. But I suppose she has her own demons to deal with so I won’t add to them.
      Thanks for not using the woman’s name. It would have diminished your writing. 🙂

  5. I like this a lot- fab use of the prompt. Glad to see it turned out as it did and they looked to themselves. Well written 🙂

  6. ventahl says:

    Brave and biblical fable! Someone after my own heart. I’m glad I clicked on your link!

    • lorrainefort says:

      Glad you recognized it but I could not think of anything else to write once it came to me. Maybe I should have another run at it but…maybe not. I’m glad you clicked on it too!

  7. Sandra says:

    Beautifully told – excellent take on the prompt.

  8. Mayumi-H says:

    This took me right back to Catechism. 🙂 I really like the line with, “…internally flinching, knowing he was one also.” It says so much about the state of ourselves. Nice personal recognition, there, too.

  9. This is great, and very original. if we all thought this way none of us would cast anything at another

  10. Gilly Gee says:

    A brilliant and contemporary re-telling of the story!

  11. And it’s stories like this that show the power of forgiveness. Well done!

  12. lorrainefort says:

    If only I can remember them in the moment! 🙂 Thanks for replying.

Leave a Reply

