…and winter will bring…

Seasons move through space and time
Finding reason, opening rhyme
readily following yet often sublime;
They bring dynamics anew.

Spring is oft the time we breathe
Seeking each moment to openly sieve
Every fresh  second of life we receive
Greening, alive, anew!

Heat, water, blue skies; Hail summers!
Katydids op’ning loudly their hummers,
Girls bare skin, showing their tummers,
Sunbaked, content, anew.

Winds come, blowing in autumn
Whirling leaves open to have fun
Limiting schedules increase each day’s run
Cider, dryness, anew…

And winter will bring in, heavy’n bold
drafts clearing noses with bitter cold
filling days inside with memories so gold;
active, glittering, anew.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to …and winter will bring…

  1. A lovely poem about seasons, you’ve painted a word picture of each one 🙂

  2. Lovely poem! I smiled when I read, “… showing their tummers …”

  3. Really enjoyed this. Seems this prompt has inspired some lovely poems – I found yours very uplifting and jubilant of each season.

  4. Sally says:

    A lovely poem – ‘tummers’ made me smile.

  5. I love the joyousness of this.

  6. Delft says:

    I love your opening verse, sounds like a classic!

    I’m fond of rhythm in poetry, and I really like your basic rhythm, and some of the variations. There are a few lines that don’t scan: Heat, water, … Whirling leaves… And winter… Makes me stumble a little in reading.

    • lorrainefort says:

      Perhaps those reflect the abruptness with which we realize the next season is upon us?…..thanks for the honesty and i’l! Seek to be mores cognitive of the rhythm but not certain I’d change it on this one. I am grateful for your input. 🙂

  7. I love the rhyme scheme and the rhythm of your poem. Well done.

  8. gsussex says:

    What a great poem! Well structured . . . .

  9. GoofyJ says:

    great! I love you descriptions of each season. 🙂

  10. Very colorful and melodic, along with an awesome rhyming scheme to it all.
    Well done!

Leave a Reply

